Posted in Book Review

Caraval, by Stephanie Garber

I’ve been meaning to write this book review for ages! I haven’t felt this way about a book in such a long time. It called out to my soul and just felt so magical and really sucked me in. In fact, I even wrote in my diary about it: “I’m reading this book called Caraval, and I am in love with it! I can’t remember the last time I felt so passionate about a book. Something about it just makes me want to read it non stop, and believe in all of the love and magic”

I really enjoyed the characters in the story, and travelling through the story with Scarlett was one of my favourite parts. She was just a lot more relatable than any of the other protagonists I’ve been with before. Most of the decisions she made, I could see myself making had I been in her situation. Her thought process was also very realistic and just made her characterisation that much stronger. I loved Julian too, and their chemistry together is one of the best I’ve ever read. I’m a sucker for the ‘they hate each other but soon grow to love each other’ type of relationships, I think they’re full of passion and a hell of a lot of romantic tension.

The story itself was so creative and imaginative that I really could not put the book down. I love being able to properly follow along with the protagonist, only finding out twists as she does and reacting to bombshells alongside her. It creates a more secure relationship between the reader and Scarlett. The twists were both a mixture of surprising and maybe a few that I had suspicions of, but overall it adds to the mystery and magic of the story.

I cannot stop thinking about it, it was such an emotional rollercoaster! I just want to throw copies of it to everyone because everyone needs to read it! And it’s the prettiest copy of a book that I own, which is a massive bonus. I am so glad that I bought it on a whim, just because other people on Instagram had!

I can’t think of any other words to explain how much this book meant to me. I guess it just reminded me of how much I love reading, and what it feels like to fall head over heels for a book.

Author:

Watch too many shows and read too many books to be healthy

2 thoughts on “Caraval, by Stephanie Garber

  1. I’m going to plan myself a Circus Month. So I’m obliged to read Caraval and The Night Circus and Daughter of the Burning City.. Anything else I need to add? Haha.
    So many awesome books in a general circus-theme lately and I haven’t read one of them. It’s a shame, really..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is the first one in that theme that I’ve read, so I can’t recommend anymore! I agree, it seems to be really popular at the moment and I’d love to read more

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

