Posted in Book Review

I’ll take New York, by Miranda Dickinson

The first obvious thing to point out, is that I don’t really read these books. However, I am currently looking after my Grandma and had a small freak out when I realised I hadn’t brought a new book with me. Thankfully, she keeps a small collection of ones she has yet to read, and so I borrowed this one.

‘I’ll take New York’ has the cheesiest, loveliest plot idea to it – the main female and male both coming out of horrible relationships, meet spontaneously at an event and swear a pact of no relationships. The two (Bea and Jake) then pursue their friendship and rediscover New York together before eventually – literally the last pages, realising that they are meant to be. I couldn’t help as I was reading it, picturing it as a film. It has the perfect plotline to join all of those other rom-coms set in New York. In fact, I think this would have been better as a starting point for that film, rather than a book.

Despite the fact that it was set out to be a really cheesy, gooey read, I didn’t really enjoy any of the moments in the book. The pace was so slow, and the book seemed to be longer than was really necessary for what it was trying to set out. So much so, that I kept flicking ahead in the pages to see if anything interesting would be happening at any point. The idea was good, so I felt a little disappointment that it wasn’t put across to paper very well. The writing was very basic, the most boring of descriptions and dialogues and there was a lack of any sort of chemistry between the characters.

Speaking of the characters, they were dull. I liked Bea’s character, I thought she was written well. But the other characters were pointless, loud and irritating. I thought it was extremely unlikely that her parents and family would be happy if she married that idiot Otis, when he’d messed her around for years on end – but this book gives out a very old fashioned view on relationships. Plus, the most infuriating of plots — male and females cannot be friends. Not only does Russ, her best friend admit that he’s been “in love” with her for over 13 years; but all of their friends during the course of this book mock the new friendship that Bea and Jake are creating. Repeat after me, BOYS AND GIRLS CAN BE FRIENDS WITHOUT IT MEANING A RELATIONSHIP. Of course that view isn’t helped when you consider the fact that Bea and Jake actually do get together in the end…

All in all, I don’t really have much to say about this book. It was literally a time filler until I could go and get more novels. I’d recommend it to someone if they only read as a small past-time but weren’t that bothered about what they read – like my Grandma.

Author:

Watch too many shows and read too many books to be healthy

Leave a Reply

